Broad Run Golfer's Club was built on land once known as "Como Farm". The word "Como" is derived from a small town in Italy that was named by the lands' owner, noted agriculturist John Beale Bordley. It was on the Como Farm that Bordley conducted numerous experiments on crop rotation and maintenance of soil fertility. The multi-faceted Bordley, was also a lawyer and held important judgeships in a colony whose legal profession was distinguished by such men as Samuel Chase, Thomas Jefferson, and William Paca. Bordley's many accomplishments include:
1783: Elected to the American Philosophical Society.
1785: Founded the Philadelphia Society for promoting Agriculture.
- Membership included the likes of Robert Morris and Benjamin Rush
In 1791, Bordley removed himself from the city of Philadelphia and concentrated all his efforts on agriculture, until his death thirteen years later in 1804. Bordley was a member of St. Peter's Church, and lies buried in the churchyard there.
A stone wall located along the first tee was constructed with the original stone from the barn that was once on property. This wall was designed and placed in this location to transcend the history of the property to the starting hole of the golf course. Although it may appear as a simple stone wall, it serves as a link to our past and enables Broad Run Golfer's Club to create a memorable experience.
Be part of the future. Click here to make your tee time.